Mobileread
Best option for GUTENBERG? /free ebooks
#1  RodRiquez 12-18-2020, 08:52 AM
Hi there,

I've had some bad experiences with DRM & paid digital downloads, so first up I absolutely will not pay for digital content - If I want a book, music or movie I buy a physical copy.

Now with that out of the way ~

After discovering Project Gutenberg! there is a whole world of classic works I would like to explore & it seems an eReader would be a good way to do this.
I don't own a mobile phone or touch screen device, so this will be a new purchase.

The primary use would be to read free Gutenberg or other free ebooks at night in bed; browse Gutenberg & read with the minimum of hassle (So I'd like to avoid getting up to convert files & connect USB cables, etc.)

I imagine the device would need wi-fi (of course) & probably a web browser & dictionary would be useful - but otherwise im not interested in apps like email or messenger - I won't use them at all.

I am not adverse to a Kindle, but I heard it does not support .epub easily which is the entire point - it may make a Kindle a bad option - perhaps I am wrong?
or maybe I'm better off with a Android Tablet? What do you suggest?

I like it to be a cheaper option under ¥10,000 (£80?) if possible.

I am probably asking too much or my usage doesn't exist - but I thought I would ask anyway - thanks for your time & help!

#2  Quoth 12-18-2020, 09:19 AM
Calibre (MacOS, Windows, Linux). Import DRM free "Kindle"/Mobi or epub and output as desired, even after fixing paragraph style, punctuation, fonts.

Kindle costs more if Advert free. The Kobo Libra may be a bit over £80, but Kobo has better annotation than Kindle (Kobo Utilities on Calibre, though Annotation option on Calibre does support Kindle and Kobo) and the 7" 300 dpi is superior to 6".