Mobileread
7"+ upgrade from Kindle PW3, but what?
#1  sniglom 07-05-2020, 08:48 AM
Hello, I'm new here

I've been using a Kindle Paperwhite 3 for a couple of years now and I'm thinking about upgrading it.

I'm satisfied with the contrast, sharpness and uniformity of the display of the PW3. I also think the material is easy to hold and the build quality is good enough. A worse display or build quality would be annoying.

What I want in a new device:
A bigger display. Perhaps 7-8", I don't have anything to compare to.
Nice to have: physical buttons and/or warm backlight.

How I use the Kindle:
*I sideload epub/mobi/azw3 books using calibre and have no issues with converting. No PDFs, no manga, no audiobooks. Plain reading.

* I like that the interface is uncluttered when I read. Only thing I use is "time left in chapter"

*I read in landscape mode, but this is probably because I like to have longer rows on a small device, rather than using a very small font.

*Customization wise, I don't do much. Reduced line spacing and margins.

*The email functionality in the kindle is nice, but I have no problem with connecting it to my computer.

What device to choose?
The new paperwhite is too similar at 6", bluish backlight and no buttons.

The Kindle Oasis is a bit pricy at 300 euros, but if it's awesome, maybe it's the right device.

Thus, I looked at a few alternatives;
Kobo Libra H2O, 7", €140
PocketBook InkPad 3, 7.8", €180
Kobo Forma, 8", €245
Maybe there's something more I should check out?

I have no idea how these compare quality wise. Since I don't use much functionality, I care about that the screen quality is good, the backlight is uniform and that the device feels somewhat quick.

The pocketbook seems to be good value, at least for its screen size. The white Kobo has a nice look and the case with a builtin stand seems nice. But I have no idea whether Kobo or Pocketbook is to prefer in hardware quality or software quality.

#2  Quoth 07-06-2020, 08:31 AM