Mobileread
New Leaf Nominations for November • If Books Could Kill, Thrilling Stories
#1  CRussel 10-01-2020, 12:23 PM
Hello and Welcome to the New Leaf Book Club's November Book Nomination thread where we nominate the books that we'd like the New Leaf Book Club to consider reading in November, 2020. The theme is If Books Could Kill, Thrilling Stories .

Everyone is welcome to join the nomination process even if they'd rather lurk during the voting and discussion; if that is still a little too much commitment, please feel free to suggest titles without making a formal nomination. Also, don't sweat the links. Yes, it's helpful to check availability and prices before nominating in order to eliminate anything that's out of the question, but ultimately our global members with different gadgets and preferences will have to check for themselves.

The nominations will run through 9 AM Pacific, October 7, 2020. Each nomination requires a second to make it to the poll, which will remain open for three days. The discussion of the selection will start on November 15, 2020.

And don't forget to join us for the discussion of The Secret Life of Bletchley Park: The WWII Codebreaking Centre and the Men and Women Who Worked There , our October selection. That discussion starts on Thursday, October 15th. (Or whenever I manage to get the discussion thread up!)

Any questions? See the FAQ below, or just ask!

FAQs for the Nomination, Selection and Discussion process

General Guidelines for the New Leaf Book Club

Official choices with two nominations:
Reply 

#2  CRussel 10-01-2020, 12:25 PM
Nominations awaiting a second:
Reply 

#3  Catlady 10-01-2020, 01:04 PM
Your forgot to change the author for the October selection--Sinclair McKay. Oops!
Reply 

#4  Luffy 10-01-2020, 04:27 PM
I'm actually reading a book called If Books Could Kill, by Kate Carlisle.
Reply 

#5  JSWolf 10-01-2020, 04:41 PM
Quote Luffy
I'm actually reading a book called If Books Could Kill, by Kate Carlisle.
Too bad is't the 2nd book of a series or it would have been perfect to nominate.
Reply 

#6  Luffy 10-01-2020, 04:45 PM
Quote JSWolf
Too bad is't the 2nd book of a series or it would have been perfect to nominate.
Right. And it's a cozy so it wouldn't have won.
Reply 

#7  JSWolf 10-01-2020, 04:57 PM
Quote Luffy
Right. And it's a cozy so it wouldn't have won.
Given that what we are reading now is not a light book, I'd have voted for it.

Anyway, time to find something to nominate.
Reply 

#8  CRussel 10-01-2020, 05:48 PM
Quote Catlady
Your forgot to change the author for the October selection--Sinclair McKay. Oops!
Oops! Thanks
Reply 

#9  JSWolf 10-01-2020, 06:11 PM
I'm nominating something a bit different.

I'll nominate Friday the Rabbi Slept Late by Harry Kemelman.
Quote
David Small is the new rabbi in the small Massachusetts town of Barnard’s Crossing. Although he’d rather spend his days engaged in Torah study and theological debate, the daily chores of synagogue life are all-consuming—that is, until the day a nanny’s body is found on the rain-soaked asphalt of the temple’s parking lot.

When the young woman’s purse is discovered in Rabbi Small’s car, he will have to use his scholarly skills and Talmudic wisdom—and collaborate with the Irish-Catholic police chief—to exonerate himself and find the real killer.

Blending this unorthodox sleuth’s quick intellect with thrilling action, Friday the Rabbi Slept Late is the exciting first installment of the beloved bestselling mystery series that offers a Jewish twist on the clerical mystery, a delightful discovery for fans of Father Brown and Father Dowling or readers of Faye Kellerman’s suspense novels set in the Orthodox community.
Overdrive: https://www.overdrive.com/search?q=Friday+the+Rabbi+Slept+Late&f-formatClassification=
Freading: https://newtonfreelibrary.freading.com/search?q=frinday+the+rabbi+slept+late&type=basic
Hoopla: https://www.hoopladigital.com/search?page=1&q=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late&scope= everything&type=direct
Kobo US: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/search?query=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
Kobo UK: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/search?query=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
eBooks.com US: https://www.ebooks.com/en-us/searchapp/searchresults.net?term=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
eBooks.com UK: https://www.ebooks.com/en-gb/searchapp/searchresults.net?term=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZJZH6XK
Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00ZJZH6XK
Google Play UK: https://play.google.com/store/search?c=books&q=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
Google Play US: https://play.google.com/store/search?q=Friday%20the%20rabbi%20slept%20late&c=boo ks&hl=en&gl=US
Reply 

#10  astrangerhere 10-01-2020, 11:20 PM
I will second this.

Quote JSWolf
I'm nominating something a bit different.

I'll nominate Friday the Rabbi Slept Late by Harry Kemelman.


Overdrive: https://www.overdrive.com/search?q=Friday+the+Rabbi+Slept+Late&f-formatClassification=
Freading: https://newtonfreelibrary.freading.com/search?q=frinday+the+rabbi+slept+late&type=basic
Hoopla: https://www.hoopladigital.com/search?page=1&q=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late&scope= everything&type=direct
Kobo US: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/search?query=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
Kobo UK: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/search?query=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
eBooks.com US: https://www.ebooks.com/en-us/searchapp/searchresults.net?term=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
eBooks.com UK: https://www.ebooks.com/en-gb/searchapp/searchresults.net?term=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZJZH6XK
Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00ZJZH6XK
Google Play UK: https://play.google.com/store/search?c=books&q=friday+the+rabbi+slept+late
Google Play US: https://play.google.com/store/search?q=Friday%20the%20rabbi%20slept%20late&c=boo ks&hl=en&gl=US
Reply 

  Next »  Last »  (1/5)
Today's Posts | Search this Thread | Login | Register