Mobileread
Create non-fiction pamphlet on Linux?
#1  cootcraig 10-04-2018, 01:58 PM
My primary workstation(s) run Linux. I've started reading ebooks and use Calibre as my ebook archive. I've gotten interested in creating non-fiction pamphlets for my own use and on occasion for direct distribution to others.

I have a private personal journal I keep with Nanoc, a static site generator. Vim is used as the editor. Yes, I'm a tech geek (now retired).

In the past I've used LyX – The Document Processor for work related technical reports. In fact, my first thought is write in LyX and then convert to epub in Calibre.

Discussion please. Let me know about existing threads to look at.

#2  rcentros 10-04-2018, 06:47 PM
I use Linux and have created a few ePub documents, but my method is extremely simple. Like you, I use a text editor for the initial writing (Jstar, a WordStar-like Joe variant), then I read that file into LibreOffice Writer (after removing the extra hard carriage returns so the text will flow, probably not necessary in vim). Then I format the document however I want, save as ODT and read that into Calibre. And then just convert to ePub. It comes out pretty well. Nothing fancy. No diagrams or images.

#3  cootcraig 10-04-2018, 07:12 PM
Quote rcentros
I use Linux and have created a few ePub documents, but my method is extremely simple. Like you, I use a text editor for the initial writing (Jstar, a WordStar-like Joe variant), then I read that file into LibreOffice Writer (after removing the extra hard carriage returns so the text will flow, probably not necessary in vim). Then I format the document however I want, save as ODT and read that into Calibre. And then just convert to ePub. It comes out pretty well. Nothing fancy. No diagrams or images.
I will try LibreOffice Writer. I'm likely to want images and diagrams occasionally, Writer might be just the thing.

#4  gmw 10-04-2018, 11:27 PM