Mobileread
du Maurier, George? Or Maurier, George du?
#1  AlexBell 07-20-2019, 02:33 AM
In a week or so I expect to upload a book by George du Maurier to the MobileRead library.

Should I enter the author's name as du Maurier, George; or as Maurier, George du?

If the answer is in the wiki then please accept my apologies, and point it out to me. If the answer is not in the wiki could it be put there?

#2  lumpynose 07-20-2019, 02:48 AM
Quote AlexBell
In a week or so I expect to upload an book by George du Maurier to the MobileRead library.

Should I enter the author's name as du Maurier, George; or as Maurier, George du?

If the answer is in the wiki then please accept my apologies, and point it out to me. If the answer is not in the wiki could it be put there?
I'm no expert in this but I think it should be sorted under Maurier but know that the du is part of the last name. Which doesn't really answer your question. I'm guessing that the Dutch names with van and German names with von are similar so maybe you could do a google search on "names with van, von, and du" (and maybe de la for Spanish) and see what they say about them.

#3  Jellby 07-20-2019, 07:08 AM
I'd prefer "Maurier, George du", but it doesn't really matter because the guidelines are not being enforced and they've been broken too many times.

ETA: We already have a couple of "Du Maurier, George".

#4  dwig 07-20-2019, 01:25 PM
Project Gutenberg uses "Du Maurier, George" and Wikipedia consistently uses "du Maurier" when not including his first name. I use "du Maurier, George" for the author_sort in calibre.

#5  Jellby 07-22-2019, 04:31 AM
Quote dwig
and Wikipedia consistently uses "du Maurier" when not including his first name.
At least in Spanish, one thing is the sorting order (Maurier, George du), and a different one is how to use the surname alone (Du Maurier). Of course, that doesn't necessarily apply to other languages/traditions.

#6  GrannyGrump 07-22-2019, 05:34 AM