Mobileread
EPUB to DOCX with footnotes
#1  Itkin 05-19-2020, 02:11 PM
Wrong Thread, I am sorry!

Hello, I have an epub file which I want to convert to docx. The footnotes are hyperlinks in the epub file. Is there a way to convert the file with properly converted footnotes for MS Word?

#2  kovidgoyal 05-19-2020, 10:28 PM
No, I'm afraid not.

#3  JSWolf 05-20-2020, 06:40 AM
Quote Itkin
Wrong Thread, I am sorry!

Hello, I have an epub file which I want to convert to docx. The footnotes are hyperlinks in the epub file. Is there a way to convert the file with properly converted footnotes for MS Word?
Try converting the ePub to HTML and load the HTML into Word and see how that works.

#4  Winnito 11-19-2020, 06:52 AM
Wait?!

this is my first time getting stuck with the same problem...is there really no way to tell calibre when converting epub to docx to make proper footnotes/endnotes rather then hyperlinked text? I would think this was 1990 type of problem.

#5  kovidgoyal 11-19-2020, 07:22 AM
Quote Winnito
Wait?!

this is my first time getting stuck with the same problem...is there really no way to tell calibre when converting epub to docx to make proper footnotes/endnotes rather then hyperlinked text? I would think this was 1990 type of problem.
Invent a time machine, go back to 1990 and solve it then.

#6  Winnito 11-19-2020, 10:31 AM
Quote kovidgoyal
Invent a time machine, go back to 1990 and solve it then.
no need for sarcasm...this wasn't a rant against what you've built...calibre does a great job converting between so many different formats. I'm just puzzled when I encounter something which looks like a problem someone surely encountered before (even before calibre was around, I would think).

Anyways...knowing that I don't know how to fix it but also that it's not easy fixable is good enough for me at this point.

tnx Kovid for all your work.

#7  Uncle Robin 11-19-2020, 10:49 AM
Quote Winnito
Wait?!