Mobileread
Calibre 4.1 suddenly not sending out
#1  celinego 10-17-2019, 04:30 PM
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie so hope I'm posting in the right place.

Last night about 9pm (UK time), none of the books (pdocs, mobi format) were received by myself or multiple friends I sent to before without any problem.

Calibre says it's sent. But it's not received. I can still successfully send mobi files from my webmail and my email client ... just not from Calibre.

To further complicate things, Amazon has just introduced a new security step by holding the sent mobi file back and generating an email to the recipient telling them they've had a request to send a file to their device and they have to click on VERIFY within the email for them to send the file on!

They introduced this yesterday evening just as my problems started. I've been on to them today for 7 hours, testing and reporting back. It seems my webmail will send the book file and generate the Amazon mail; my email clint (eMClient) will send the book file and generate the Amazon email.... only Calibre doesn't!!

Calibre says it's sent successfully (including test emails) ... but nothing else happens. If it's any extra info, I'm in the UK using btinternet.com as my internet provider email/webmail ... in case there are any other UK BT users experiencing the same.

I'm stumped. I even downloaded a previous version of Calibre ... but today, it's now also saying it's 4.1 (which is latest?)

Aside from that ... I'm not getting on with the Calibre ebook viewer! Preferred the previous version where I had icons down the left side and could page back and forth one page at a time. Now it's a vertical scroll down?

Really hope someone can help with either problem please.

Thanks for reading .... celineg

#2  JSWolf 10-17-2019, 04:42 PM
What books are you sending to your friends? Are they books in copyright?

#3  celinego 10-17-2019, 05:07 PM
Thanks for reading.